English National Badminton Championships 2012
03-05 February, Bolton Arena

Visit the 2013 site



CLARK - retiring, but ... ] ROBERTSON - the last one ] CANN - aims to regain ] RAJ - seeking a handful ] DRAWS released ] [ SEEDS announced ] PREVIEW ]

Penty and Green seeded for
English National Championships

RISING stars Toby Penty and Josh Green will get the chance to test themselves against England’s established stars after being seeded for the English National Championships at Bolton Arena from February 3-5.

Surrey left-hander Penty, the 6ft 3in 19-year-old from Walton-on-Thames, is No. 4 seed in the men’s singles while Green (Isle of Man), who is also 19, is No. 5. Both teenagers have already won the English Nationals Under 19 title. Now their sights are set on making a mark at the senior championships.

Defending champion and Commonwealth silver medallist Rajiv Ouseph, who is bidding for a record fifth consecutive men’s singles title, is top seed for the fifth year in a row while four-times runner-up Carl Baxter is No. 2 seed.

Both Green and Penty lost to Ouseph in the Middlesex man’s title charge last year so they already know the size of their task.

In the women’s singles Hampshire’s Panuga Riou is No. 4 seed and Yorkshire’s Sarah Milne is No. 5 seed behind Commonwealth bronze medallist Elizabeth Cann (Jersey), who will also be bidding for a fifth title.

Last year’s winner Nicola Cerfontyne (Dorset) is seeded to meet Cann in the final while 2011 runner-up Sarah Walker (Essex) is No. 3 seed.

Chris Adcock (Notts) and Andrew Ellis (Yorks) are top seeds in the men’s doubles as they bid for their first English National title. Defending champion Chris Langridge (Surrey) and new partner Peter Mills (Notts) are seeded to meet them in the final.

Lancashire’s Gary Fox and Warwickshire’s Ben Stawski (Warwicks) are No. 3 seeds and, following the withdrawal of Chris Coles (Avon) through injury, Anthony Clark (Notts) and Kristian Roebuck (Derbyshire) are seeded at No. 4.

Clark won the men’s doubles title nine years in a row until an eye injury stopped his winning sequence last year.

In the women’s doubles Mariana Agathangelou (Avon) and Heather Olver (Sussex) are top seeds for the first time. For the last two years Agathangelou and Olver have been runners-up to Bolton-born Jenny Wallwork and partner Gabby White but the Leeds pair are No. 2 seeds this year.

In the mixed doubles Wallwork and Nathan Robertson (Notts) are top seeds as they aim to make it a hat-trick of National titles together to add to the four Robertson won with Gail Emms.

Adcock and White, the 2011 runners-up are again the main threat as second seeds with Marcus Ellis (Yorks) and Olver at No. 3 and Stawski and Lauren Smith (Yorks) No. 4.

Victory would take Robertson (Notts) level with Mike Tredgett’s National title tally of 16 (10 men’s doubles and six mixed). Last year Robertson collected his ninth men’s doubles title when he deputised for Clark and won the title with Langridge.

A total of 143 players from 28 counties have entered the Championships.

The Championships had been planned for a ninth consecutive year at Manchester Velodrome but BADMINTON England have agreed to switch the venue to Bolton Arena to help Britain’s cyclists prepare for the World Cup Classic, which is the Olympic Test event for London 2012.

Today’s entry list features players from all over England as they seize the opportunity to take on some of the GB squad players hoping to qualify for London 2012.


Men's singles
1 Rajiv Ouseph (Middx)
2 Carl Baxter (Kent)
3 Ben Beckman (Surrey)
4 Toby Penty (Surrey)
5 Josh Green (Isle of Man)
6 Robert Kettle (Surrey)
7 Nathan D'Cruz (Middx)
8 Michael Spencer-Smith (Herts)

Men's Doubles
1 Chris Adcock (Notts) & Andy Ellis (Yorks)
2 Chris Langridge (Surrey) & Peter Mills (Notts)
3 Gary Fox (Lancs) & Ben Stawski (Warwicks)
4 Anthony Clark (Notts) & Kristian Roebuck (Derbyshire)

Mixed Doubles
1 Nathan Robertson (Notts) & Jenny Wallwork (Yorks)
2 Chris Adcock (Notts) & Gabby White (Yorks)
3 Marcus Ellis (Yorks) & Heather Olver (Sussex)
4 Ben Stawski (Warks) & Lauren Smith (Yorks)
Women's Singles
1 Elizabeth Cann (Jersey)
2 Nicola Cerfontyne (Dorset)
3 Sarah Walker (Essex)
4 Panuga Riou (Hants)
5 Sarah Milne (Yorks)
6 Helena Cable (Hants)
7 Helen Davies (Cheshire)
8 Kate Robertshaw (Yorks)

Women's Doubles
1 Mariana Agathangelou (Avon) & Heather Olver (Sussex)
2 Jenny Wallwork & Gabby White (both Yorks)
3 Alexandra Langley (Notts) & Lauren Smith (Yorks)
4 Helena Lewczynska (Herts) & Hayley Rogers (Cheshire)



CLARK - retiring, but ... ] ROBERTSON - the last one ] CANN - aims to regain ] RAJ - seeking a handful ] DRAWS released ] [ SEEDS announced ] PREVIEW ]

©2012 BADMINTON England

Contact Yonex All England 2012